What is the public sector?

The term ‘public sector’ refers broadly to the entities that exist and people employed for public purpose. The public sector supports all three arms of government - the ‘executive’ arm (the Government of the day), the ‘legislature’ (Parliament) and the ‘judiciary’ (judges of the various courts). The public sector can be considered as comprising of a number of categories - public service departments, SES and non-SES organisations, other organisations and independent offices.

Page last updated 14 March 2018