Graduate Launch Program

To support new staff in the public sector, the Commission offers the Graduate Launch Program (the program).
 
Embracing a blended learning approach, the program combines formal modules, group work, agency site visits, guest presenters who are senior leaders in the sector and networking opportunities to complement induction or graduate programs delivered by agencies.
 
The program provides a whole-of-government perspective on the political, legislative and community-minded environment in which all public sector employees must operate. The curriculum fosters an appreciation of the complexity, importance and breadth of the work of the public sector in Western Australia.
 
It provides a public sector context for further experience and development of skills and knowledge, enabling a professional transition to public sector-wide employment.
 
Graduates will develop practical skills applicable to areas of government such as finance, policy development and federalism, balanced by opportunities to network with senior executives and peers across the public sector.
 

Enquiries

Please note, the program is not a recruitment program and is for graduates currently employed in the public sector.

If you are seeking information about graduate employment programs, please visit the jobs.wa.gov website.

Agency enquiries about the program may be directed to the Program Manager, email  leadership@psc.wa.gov.au or phone (08) 6552 8519.

Eligibility

The program is open to staff who have recently completed tertiary studies and joined the public sector. Graduates must have:

  • commenced employment within the Western Australian public sector within 12 months prior to the program commencing
  • successfully completed an undergraduate (or post graduate) degree at a recognised university or education institution within the last two years
  • the support of their employing agency to attend and participate in all aspects of the program.

Fees

The 2020 program fee is $555 (excl. GST) per participant for a 10 month program. The fee covers all expenses including:

  • a subsidy by the Public Sector Commission
  • face-to-face delivery of all components by content experts and senior leaders from across the public sector
  • materials and resources
  • administrative costs associated.

Program Schedule

NB: Dates are subject to change.

  Group A Group B
Applications open
Mon, 3 February 2020
Applications close
Fri, 28 February 2020

Induction to the WA Public Sector Induction

*program participants select one session to attend

Wed, 18 March 2020
9:00am to 12:00pm
 
or
 
Wed, 1 April 2020
9:00am to 12:00pm

Module One

Expectations and Self Awareness

Tue, 7 April 2020
9:00am to 5:00pm
Wed, 8 April 2020
9:00am to 5:00pm

Module Two

Communication and Influencing

Tue, 5 May 2020
8:30am to 4:30pm
Wed, 6 May 2020
8:30am to 4:30pm
Agency Visit One
Tue, 19 May 2020
9:00am to 12:30pm
N/A

Conversations with the Sector

Event One

Thu, 4 June 2020
2:30pm – 4:30pm

Module Three

Writing for Government

Mon, 15 June 2020
8:30am to 4:30pm
Tue, 16 June 2020
8:30am to 4:30pm

Module Four

Managing and Leading Self

Tue, 21 July 2020
8:30am to 4:30pm
Wed, 22 July 2020
8:30am to 4:30pm

WA Parliament Seminar and Tour

Thursday 30 July 2020
9:00am to 12:30pm

Conversations with the Sector

Event Two

Thursday, 27 August 2020
2:30pm to 4:30pm
Group Project 
Wed, 30 September 2020
9:00am to 12:30pm
Thu, 1 October 2020
9:00am to 12:30pm
Agency Visit Two
N/A
Tue, 6 October 2020
9:00am to 12:30pm

Module Five

Introduction to Policy

Tue, 27 October 2020
8:30am to 4:30pm
Wed, 28 October 2020
8:30am to 4:30pm

Conversations with the Sector

Event Three

Thu, 5 November 2020
2:30pm – 4:30pm

Module Six

Reflections and Going Forward

Tue, 24 November 2020
8:30am to 12:30pm
Thu, 26 November 2020
8:30am to 12:30pm
Recognition ceremony
Thu, 3 December 2020
2:30pm to 4:30pm

 


Page last updated 26 March 2020