Government qualifications

The Public Sector Commission is committed to promoting government qualifications as a means of developing public administration capabilities.

Enabling public sector employees to gain a government qualification formally recognises the learning they acquire throughout their career, while addressing any skills and knowledge gaps.

For public sector agencies, a government qualification is industry specific, practical and cost effective solution that can address skill shortages and workforce challenges. The provision of government qualifications not only fosters a learning culture within agencies but also recognises employees' commitment to a career in government.

Public Sector Training Package

The Public Sector Training Package is a set of nationally endorsed competencies and qualifications used to recognise and assess the skills and knowledge needed to perform effectively in a public sector context.

Specifically, government qualifications are designed to assist those entering the sector at any stage of their career and existing public sector employees can develop the competencies required for a successful career in the public sector.

Overview of government qualifications

Reflecting the variety of careers available within the public sector, there are a range of qualifications to choose from.

The following generalist qualifications are currently available:

  • Certificate II in Government - includes competencies which lay a foundation for a career in the public sector. Suitable for trainees, administrative assistants and customer service officer roles.
  • Certificate III in Government - includes entry level competencies for a career in the public sector. Suitable for customer service advisers, project support officers and executive assistant roles.
  • Certificate IV in Government - includes competencies required for working with minimum supervision in the public sector. It is suitable for those working in an environment requiring multi-skilled personnel, including project officers and research officer roles.
  • Diploma of Government - includes competencies required for independent and self-directed work in the public sector. It is suitable for those working in an environment with a range of responsibilities, including program coordinators and consultant roles.
  • Advanced Diploma of Government - includes competencies required for work in the public sector which is autonomous and often non-routine. It is suitable for those with responsibilities diverse in nature and who require supervisory and managerial skills.

Direct or open entry is possible into any government qualification. View pathway options (external PDF, pp17-19).

Qualifications include both generalist and specialist competencies to reflect both generic responsibilities of working in the public sector but also job specific skills requirements.

  • Generalist competencies:
    • ethics and values, workplace diversity, compliance with legislation, policy development and implementation.
  • Specialist competencies:
    • human resources, project management, land administration, workplace relations, court services.

Each qualification includes a number of compulsory and elective competencies.

Follow these links to view samples of government qualifications:

Learning outcomes

Government qualifications are designed to build or recognise public administration skills.

By completing a government qualification individuals will be able to demonstrate and apply:

  • Ethical and accountable decision-making
  • Policy implementation and analysis
  • Compliance with WA public sector legislation
  • Quality service provision
  • Government processes, protocols and communication strategies


Agencies that utilise government qualifications to build the capacity of their employees will reap the following benefits:

  • Development of public administration skills
  • Increased capability of employees to deliver services
  • Knowledge management and succession planning strategy
  • Address skill shortages
  • Retain and reward valuable employees
  • Foster a vibrant learning culture
  • Provide professional development pathways

Modes of delivery

Government qualifications and competencies may be attained in a range of ways:

  • Employment based training such as traineeships
  • Recognition of prior learning
  • Participation in professional development programs and workshops
  • On-the-job training
  • Self-paced, distance or online learning

Training providers

Only registered training providers can deliver nationally recognised qualifications and competencies from training packages.

For a full list of registered training providers go to

The training provider performs the following functions:

  • Selecting appropriate qualification level and units of competency to meet needs
  • Delivery of training
  • Assessment of skills and knowledge
  • Learner management systems, including issuing certificates and academic records

Engaging a registered training provider

Currently, a Common Use Arrangement (CUA) does not exist for the engagement of training providers to deliver vocational education and training qualifications, including government qualifications. Agencies interested in engaging a training provider are required to follow guidelines set out by the Department of Finance- Government Procurement. Government Procurement advises:

Where there is no existing CUA in place, buyers follow one of four purchasing methods depending on the total contract value:

Monetary threshold Purchasing method

Up to $5,000

Direct purchase; multiple quotes are not required

$5,001 - $20,000

Request sufficient verbal quotes

$20,00 - $150,000

Request sufficient written quotes

$150,000 and above

Open tender through Tenders WA

To purchase training services over $20,000, agencies must work with Government Procurement who will support and guide agencies on purchasing processes including request for quotes (RFQ).

Find out more information on government procurement policies.

Follow this link to review an example of RFQs seeking to engage an RTO to delivery government qualifications:

Leading practice

Many agencies are already recognising the value in offering government qualifications to their employees, including:

  • Public Sector Commission
  • Western Australian Police Service
  • Department of Corrective Services
  • Department of the Attorney General

Further information

If you have any enquiries about the Centre for Public Sector Excellence, please email

Page last updated 27 July 2015