Premier's Awards

About the Awards

The Awards were launched in 1996 to stimulate and inspire agencies to strive for excellence in their delivery of services to the community.

All Western Australian public sector agencies, statutory authorities, universities, local government authorities and government trading enterprises (GTEs) are eligible to apply for any Award category. Nominations must reflect work led by a public sector agency other than the Department of the Premier and Cabinet or the Public Sector Commission. Nominations will not be accepted if they reflect a lead by a non-government entity, the Department of the Premier and Cabinet, or the Public Sector Commission.

The Awards are about recognising and rewarding the most outstanding initiatives and the most extraordinary achievements for the State’s public sector throughout the year.

The Awards focus on specific initiatives and are based on agencies demonstrating success against four general criteria and two or three category specific criteria.

The seven Award categories are:

Developing the economy, Improving Aboriginal outcomes, Improving government and reducing red tape, Managing the environment, Revitalising the regions, Strengthening families and communities, Western Australia in Asia

To give potential new nominees a better understanding of the Awards, a presentation has been prepared to demonstrate the steps in the Awards journey.

Goals and Objectives

The Premier’s Awards for Excellence in Public Sector Management were instituted in 1996 and aim to educate, stimulate and inspire agencies, local government authorities and public universities to strive for excellence in the delivery of their services to the community. As well as recognising and celebrating world-class achievements by those involved in the delivery of public services, the awards play an important role in motivating agencies to become more innovative in meeting the community’s needs.

Benefits in submitting a nomination for an Award

There is a considerable amount of effort required in preparing a nomination for the Awards.

There are many benefits in nominating for an Award. Some of the benefits stemming from the nomination process include:

  • feedback throughout the judging processes can assist in the learning and improving the rigour of a future Awards nomination;
  • preparing a nomination is an opportunity to review a major initiative/project;
  • recognising an innovative and creative approach to address an emerging issue and/or challenge faced in the public sector;
  • recognition and acknowledgement in the effort that goes into undertaking and delivering a major initiative/project;
  • increasing profile of the organisation in a major initiative/project field.


Finalists will be invited to attend the Awards Ceremony in November, where the winners are announced and presented their awards. A profile booklet is published in the recognised excellence section each year following the Awards ceremony. 

The overall winner may also receive a visit from the Premier a couple weeks after the Awards ceremony (subject to availability). The overall winner will be advised in due course.

In the new year, a briefing session is conducted inviting new and potential nominations for the coming Premier’s Awards year.  Winners and finalists may be asked to participate in this to promote the nomination process. 

Nominations opening period

Nominations for the 2016 Awards will open Monday 14 March 2016 and close Friday 29 April 2016, subject to the Premier’s approval.

If you wish to find out more about nominations, please visit the nominations page, examples of past nominations and the recognised excellence page to learn more about past winners and finalists of the Awards.

Contact Us

For further information on any aspect of the Premier’s Awards, please contact:

Premier's Awards team at the Public Sector Commission


Phone: 6552 8579

Street Address
Public Sector Commission
Dumas House
2 Havelock St
Perth Western Australia

Mailing Address
Public Sector Commission
Locked Bag 3002
West Perth WA 6872

Page last updated 14 June 2016