The Western Australian Premier, the Hon. Mark McGowan MLA, will consider a refreshed approach to the Premier’s Awards for Public Sector Excellence. It is anticipated this will include new categories and initiatives which the Premier will launch in 2018. Consequently, there will be no award program in 2017.

News about the 2018 Premier’s Awards will be posted and distributed via the Premier’s Awards mailing list as it becomes available.

Judging - the assessment process

The Awards’ nomination process is very competitive. The assessment process comprises three distinct stages. Nominations are independently assessed against several general and category specific criteria by a combination of judging panels throughout the assessment process. 

Awards judges are independent volunteers from public authorities, academia, industry and the Western Australian community.  

1. Shortl​is​ting assessment

Judging panel delegates meet to discuss and agree on individual assessments of the evaluation criteria. Recommendations are then made for up to five nominees to progress to the category assessment stage.

2. Category ​assessment

Nominees who are successful in getting to the category assessment stage are invited to deliver a 20-minute presentation to a judging panel at Dumas House. The Presentation guidelines provide all the information and tips required to prepare and present to the judging panel. 

During this assessment phase, the judging panel choose a category winner and up to three finalists per category. 

3. Ov​erall winner assessment

Chairs of each category judging panel meet to evaluate all category winning nominations and select the overall winning nomination. 

Finalists are invited to attend the Awards Ceremony in November where the Premier will acknowledge the finalists and winners from each category and the Awards’ overall winner. 

Page last updated 30 December 2016