The Public Service Medal

The Public Service Medal (PSM) is part of the official Australian system of honours and awards. It recognises employees at local, state and federal levels of government who have given outstanding service. It is awarded by the Governor-General of Australia on Australia Day and the Queen’s Birthday each year.

The award

Medal recipients are entitled to use the letters ‘PSM’ after their names to show that their outstanding service has been recognised formally.

Only 100 medals can be awarded in any calendar year – up to six in Western Australia.

What is the medal awarded for?

The sole criterion is outstanding public service.

‘Outstanding service’ includes service above and beyond normal requirements of a position; special achievement or success in the performance of duty in difficult or unusual circumstances; and sustained performance with a focus on outcomes and recognisable benefits to clients, the workplace or community.

Long service is not a basis for making a nomination.


If you have any queries about the nomination process, please contact the team at or on (08) 6552 8590.

Page last updated 21 November 2019