Appendix B: Public authorities reporting to the DEOPE

Public sector entities

Public sector entities as at 30 June 2016

  • Animal Resources Authority
  • Architects Board of Western Australia
  • Botanic Gardens and Parks Authority
  • Burswood Park Board
  • C Y O'Connor Institute
  • Central Institute of Technology
  • Challenger Institute of Technology
  • Chemistry Centre (WA)
  • Commissioner for Equal Opportunity
  • Commissioner of Main Roads
  • Construction Training Fund
  • Corruption and Crime Commission
  • Country High School Hostels Authority
  • Department for Child Protection and Family Support
  • Department of Aboriginal Affairs
  • Department of Agriculture and Food
  • Department of Commerce
  • Department of Corrective Services
  • Department of Culture and the Arts
  • Department of Education
  • Department of Education Services
  • Department of Environment Regulation
  • Department of Finance
  • Department of Fire and Emergency Services
  • Department of Fisheries
  • Department of Health
  • Department of Housing
  • Department of Lands
  • Department of Local Government and Communities
  • Department of Mines and Petroleum
  • Department of Parks and Wildlife
  • Department of Planning
  • Department of Racing, Gaming and Liquor
  • Department of Regional Development
  • Department of Sport and Recreation
  • Department of State Development
  • Department of the Attorney General (DotAG)
  • Department of the Premier and Cabinet
  • Department of the Registrar Western Australian Industrial Relations Commission
  • Department of the State Heritage Office
  • Department of Training and Workforce Development
  • Department of Transport
  • Department of Treasury
  • Department of Water
  • Disability Services Commission
  • Durack Institute of Technology
  • Economic Regulation Authority
  • Forest Products Commission
  • Gascoyne Development Commission
  • Goldfields Institute of Technology
  • Goldfields-Esperance Development Commission
  • Government Employees Superannuation Board (GESB)
  • Great Southern Development Commission
  • Great Southern Institute of Technology
  • Health and Disability Services Complaints Office
  • Healthway (Western Australian Health Promotion Foundation)
  • Insurance Commission of Western Australia
  • Keep Australia Beautiful Council (WA)
  • Kimberley Development Commission
  • Kimberley Training Institute
  • Landgate (Western Australian Land Information Authority)
  • Law Reform Commission of Western Australia
  • Legal Aid Commission of Western Australia
  • Legal Practice Board
  • Lotterywest (Lotteries Commission)
  • Mental Health Commission
  • Metropolitan Cemeteries Board
  • Metropolitan Redevelopment Authority
  • Mid West Development Commission
  • Minerals and Energy Research Institute of Western Australia
  • Office of the Auditor General
  • Office of the Commissioner for Children and Young People
  • Office of the Director of Public Prosecutions
  • Office of the Environmental Protection Authority
  • Office of the Information Commissioner
  • Office of the Inspector of Custodial Services
  • Ombudsman (Parliamentary Commissioner for Administrative Investigations)
  • Peel Development Commission
  • Pilbara Development Commission
  • Pilbara Institute
  • Polytechnic West
  • Potato Marketing Corporation of Western Australia
  • Public Sector Commission
  • Public Transport Authority of Western Australia
  • Road Safety Commission
  • Rottnest Island Authority
  • Salaries and Allowances Tribunal
  • School Curriculum and Standards Authority
  • Small Business Development Corporation
  • South West Development Commission
  • South West Institute of Technology
  • The National Trust of Australia (WA)
  • VenuesWest (Western Australian Sports Centre Trust)
  • Veterinary Surgeons' Board
  • West Coast Institute of Training
  • Western Australia Police
  • Western Australian Electoral Commission
  • Western Australian Meat Industry Authority
  • Western Australian Tourism Commission
  • Wheatbelt Development Commission
  • WorkCover Western Australia Authority
  • Zoological Parks Authority

The Vocational Education and Training (Colleges Closure and Establishment) Order 2016 came into operation on 11 April 2016 to close 11 State Training Providers and establish five new Technical and Further Education (TAFE) colleges. As the data collection period for this annual report was April 2015 to March 2016, the list of public sector entities above does not reflect the current TAFE structure.

Non-public sector authorities

Local government authorities

A list of all local government authorities is available on the Department of Local Government and Communities website at Please note that the Shire of Christmas Island and the Shire of Cocos (Keeling) Islands are not required to report to the DEOPE under the EO Act.

Public universities

Public universities as at 30 June 2016

  • Curtin University of Technology
  • Murdoch University
  • Edith Cowan University
  • The University of Western Australia

Other authorities (including government trading enterprises, the Police Force and electorate offices)

Other authorities as at 30 June 2016

  • Bunbury Water Board
  • Busselton Water Board
  • Electorate offices
  • Fremantle Port Authority
  • Gold Corporation
  • Kimberley Port Authority
  • Pilbara Ports Authority
  • Police Force
  • Racing and Wagering Western Australia
  • Southern Ports Authority
  • The Electricity Networks Corporation (Western Power)
  • The Electricity Retail Corporation (Synergy)
  • The Regional Power Corporation (Horizon Power)
  • Water Corporation
  • Western Australian Greyhound Racing Association
  • Western Australian Land Authority (LandCorp)
  • Western Australian Treasury Corporation

Independent authorities reported by larger authorities

For the purposes of EEO reporting some public authorities are covered by the EEO management plans and processes of larger authorities, for example:

  • State Supply Commission is reported through the Department of Finance
  • Liquor Commission and Racing Penalties Appeal Tribunal are reported through the Department of Racing, Gaming and Liquor
  • Art Gallery of WA, Perth Theatre Trust, The Library Board of WA and WA Museum are reported through the Department of Culture and the Arts.

Page last updated 15 September 2016